Seoul picked as Formula E host city in season six

2018.12.02 12:25:31 | 2018.12.02 12:26:02

이미지 확대
Seoul, the capital city of South Korea, is expected to host the world’s all-electric car racing series Formula E in season six after it won the rights to bring the championship to its streets.

Formula E and Korea’s sports and entertainment agency JSM Holdings said on Friday they signed an agreement to host the electric car racing championship organized by Formula E in Korea. The country has won the rights to hold Formula E series from 2020 to 2025 after beating Australia, Russia and New Zealand in the bid.

The single-seater race began in 2014, and its fifth season is about to kick off next month. Unlike its cousin Formula One, Formula E does not require a separate racing circuit because it is held on public roads.

“Korea is at the forefront of future-facing developments, leading the way with cutting-edge innovations and recognized as a global trendsetter in the automotive and technology sectors,” Formula E Founder and CEO Alejandro Agag said in a press release.

Before reaching the agreement, Formula E organizers visited Korea and conducted a feasibility study on Nov. 23. The organizer is seeking to hold the city-based race in Gwanghwamun area in central Seoul, particularly Gwanghwamun Square, Seoul City Hall, and Seoul Square areas, which is subject for approval from the city government.

Heading into its fifth year this year, Formula E is known as an environmentally-friendly race in which only vehicles with motors powered by all-electric energy are used. The series has been held for seven months every season since 2014 in 10 different cities. Once a host city is selected, 20 racers from 10 teams will drive through a two to three-kilometer track in the city.

This year, the races were held in Paris, Rome, Mexico City, and Zurich, while next year, 22 racers from 11 teams will tour around 12 cities including New York, Berlin, and Hong Kong.

This year, automakers Audi and Jaguar unveiled new models of environmentally-friendly racing cars and Mercedes-Benz, BMW, and Porsche will join the Formula E racing series next year.

By Cho Hyo-sung and Lee Eun-joo

[ⓒ Pulse by Maeil Business Newspaper &, All rights reserved]